m. klara


Design Sponge
July 4, 2009, 7:55 pm
Filed under: Designing the Interior | Tags:

Sorry I’ve been MIA for the past millenium! Wedding planning is insane! We’re down to the wire with a little over a month to go before the big day and Wayne and I are struggling to find time to attend to the details which are supposed to be fun –and they are!– but just finding the time to do it is one of our biggest challenges.

Anyway, wedding planning has opened me up to a whole new area of artistic realms: interior design. The wedding reception is gonna be in Wayne’s parents’ Chinese restaurant. The space is awesome, but the interior design is, in my opinion, less than palatable for a wedding scenario. (Sorry guys!) So, I’ve been trying to harness all my creative energies into transforming my vision for the reception into a reality (read: budget-friendly). This means purchasing DIY books and Martha Stewart Weddings magazines.

On a side note, which happens to be the real reason for this post, I found a website that has totally captured every core of my artistic being: Design Sponge. They have a section called sneak peeks which has become not even eye candy, but visual crack for me. Each set of pictures gets me high. I really can’t get enough of it. It’s basically a sneak peek into the homes of local designers and artists. I guess it’s a logical step for me because after marriage, Wayne and I are probably gonna look into purchasing our own home. A part of me wants a fixer-upper. I love getting vintage things whether it’s clothing or homes or objects and even more so when it’s reworked into something more modern. Creating something unique always makes me happy. It’s a wonder I don’t have cable. I’d have full access to HGTV. When I was in Hawaii, I’d stay up into the wee hours of the night watching it at my grandparents’ house. If I had cable at home, I’d never leave the apartment.

I’m currently scoping the interior of a portland four-square designed by interior designer jessica helgerson and I am in love. Visual crack high begins.

omg omg kitchen omg omg

omg omg kitchen omg omg

i love the contrast of the black modling and blue vases against all the white. GORGEOUS

i love the contrast of the black molding and blue vases against all the white. GORGEOUS

i love how the black frames the white with hints of green thrown in. beautiful framing.

more black and white goodness

more black and white goodness

i love the black bathtub with the white interior. who knew white could be so freakin awesome???

i love the black bathtub with the white interior. who knew white could be so freakin awesome???

i immediately felt transported outdoors even though i know this corner of the space is indoors.

i immediately felt transported outdoors even though i know this corner of the space is indoors.

Ah, this high should last for awhile. 🙂

Oooh, just an update, I aced my fashion course! Now I’m wondering if I really was meant for a career in fashion…Because of the wedding. I can’t take any summer classes right now, but after all the wedding madness dies down, I’m looking into merchandising and fashion show production. I might expand my interests to just art in general. An admissions rep from Academy of Art keeps trying to contact me. I had looked into their fashion program and was totally smitten by the courses they’re offering. I found a few scholarships, too, that could help me with tuition. But as always, wedding first…<sigh>

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

